Starting a business and other acts of faith.

15 Feb

Last year I participated in Dream Year, an experience that helps people accomplish a dream over the course of one year. A month into the program, Ben asked a few questions about the logistics of my dream, how it could become sustainable and eventually profitable. The questions did what good questions do.

In waltzed clarity.

A week later I emailed Ben: “I cannot stop thinking about our conversation. I have to change plans. Forget the proposal I submitted. What I really want to do—and I mean really, really, down-deep-within-me want to do work with Brad to design and build houses—that’s my dream. Help me figure out how to do this.” And just like that I jumped the tracks.

I spent a few months doing the not-so-fun parts that come with establishing a business: paperwork, bank visits, repeat. And, I needed a name.

Creating a brand. It can be so brutal.

For me, it’s an act of self-awareness and hope, a thoughtful process of articulating the essence of who you are and where you want to go. (Unless your Bing or Twitter and you just make or reinvent a word.) When Ben asked me to articulate my strengths or what this brand really is one word continued to resurface:

Gather. 

I am a gatherer. I gather people. I gather pretty things. I gather ideas and inspiration. I’m good at gathering.

But what to name a business and a blog: Gather. Gathered. Gathered ideas. Gathered home. Gather up. Gathered. BLAH. NO. Gather. Gathered inspiration. NO. Blah. What? Gather. Gather and Build. 

YES.

Gather and Build.

I will gather what we need. Brad can build it. It has this go-forth-and-prosper sort of feeling to it. It’s all action. Go and do.

I emailed the exceptionally talented Matt Lehman and gave him my “I have a dream” pitch and said could you bring it to life? In a logo? And will you help me brand myself? Matt came back to me with 7 logo options and 30+ variations of those logos. Killing me with beauty. He almost killed me with beauty. This particular logo and its variations captured it. UGH. So. much. to. love. 

Logo options // Matt Lehman

Here’s some advice from Dream Year: Always work with people who are better than you—find people who are among the best in a field and surround yourself with those people. In practical terms, do not design your own logo. Unless you are a professional graphic designer, you should step away from InDesign or Illustrator or whatever and hire someone who is smarter than you. 

That advice served me well. Here’s the winner:

Screen shot 2013-01-24 at 2.56.15 PM

Someone much smarter than me is helping create Gather and Build (dot. com) and eventually, this blog will have a new home. I’ll highlight the projects Brad and I work on along with other fun projects I’m working on the side—like house staging and such. And, of course, inspiration. Lots of inspiration.

You are kind to stay tuned after all these months—I’m really grateful. Thanks for sitting tight through the silence. I hope you like where we are headed. To quote Sleeping at Last, “The future is brighter than any flashback.”

Thanks for reading,

Amy

P.S. I love that gathering has ties to farming. My father would be proud. Did you see the “So God Made a Farmer” spot during the Super Bowl? Tears. In my eyes. 

12 Responses to “Starting a business and other acts of faith.”

  1. boomama February 15, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    LOVE. THIS. SO. MUCH. 🙂

    • aj February 15, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      THANK. YOU. SO. MUCH.
      🙂 Visit Nashville! We love you here.

  2. Carrie Starr February 15, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    So excited for you Amy!!

  3. Tricia February 15, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    Amy, I’m so excited for you! Your name and logo are wonderful! I look forward to seeing your dream come to fruition. You are such a creative person and (in our brief meeting) beautiful soul. Wishing you the best!

  4. Kristin Conniff February 15, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    you are so brave! i love the logo and being able your journey!

  5. Kristin Conniff February 15, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    ummm…to follow your journey. 🙂

  6. Betsy February 15, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    This is going to be GOOD. I know it.

  7. Susan Moffitt February 15, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    He needed someone to gather…and to build….so God made Amy.

  8. Shela-Lyn Boxberger February 15, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    Can’t wait to see you fly from this cocoon. No doubt a creature of beauty you already are so to put wings on you – so much possibility. I’m here rooting for you and thank God in advance for your success. Beccause I. Believe. In. YOU!. Yes – that commerical made Brad want to go out and buy a Dodge truck – he even wrote and told Dodge. Please go on their web page and “like” the commercial – they are donating to the people of my roots – the farmer. They had such a horrible year last year with the drought. Every penny counts. Have rewatched it more than once and cry eacy time. That was my Daddy too.

  9. hopefulleigh February 15, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    Amy, what thrilling news! I love all of this. Excited to see how it all takes off.

    I’ve heard amazing things about Dream Year. I have no doubt you’ll have all the success in the world. If there’s ever anything I can do to help, just say the word!

  10. Landy February 16, 2013 at 2:32 am #

    Love, love, LOVE!! Let me know if you need any help… assisting new business start-ups is my job. Don’t forget to get a business license! Creative people tend to forget the boring stuff 🙂

  11. Katie Williams February 20, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    SO PROUD for you and of you!

Leave a comment